Technology, Philosophy, & Sometimes Both

Thoughts on the World by Jack Umano

4 Ways that iTunes, iOS has Slowed me to a Crawl

with one comment

Nothing in life wastes more time for me than iTunes.   If I didn’t have to synch my iPhone with iTunes, I wouldn’t.  It seems like almost every time I plug in my iPhone, iTunes says, “stop! we have another update.”  I just want to synch the podcasts this morning but now it’s going to be a 20 minute cycle of downloading, accepting EULAs, installing… then try again to do what I wanted.  I don’t have 20 minutes to spare in the morning so I guess it’s no podcasts for me today.

Here are some of the ways iTunes wastes my time:

  1. iTunes software updates – I can’t think of a single way that iTunes has improved over the last 5 years.  But, there have been so many updates to the software.  And, each update is a huge file (100MB, really Apple?).
  2. iOS updates – These operating system updates only seem to make my iPhone worse since I don’t have the latest version of the iPhone.  My iPhone gets none of the benefits but is now slower because there’s a newer, more needy operating system.  And again, I have to download, wait, accept, wait, install, wait…  Oh, and I forgot to mention, “You should backup your system before installing this update”.  Egads – I’m just going to skip that.  I don’t have an hour to spend on this today.  Do you?
  3. Software updates – now that the operating system has changed, all my software needs to be updated to be compatible with the new operating system.  More time wasted managing the iPhone.  Again, this third party software is telling me to backup my data before installing the update.  My time is more precious than this data!
  4. All these have slowed down the iPhone itself – All those updates have made it slow at doing everything.  This is the  final insult.

Honestly, after they added cut-and-paste functionality, I can’t remember anything that made me want to update the iPhone.

It has been suggested that Apple gradually makes the old phones not work well intentionally to get you to buy the latest iPhone.  Or, that they just don’t care about old users and figure, you’ll update to the new one to keep up.  Well, if that’s true, it’s going to backfire.  My next phone will not be an iPhone.  Hello Android.

Written by Jack Umano

March 28, 2011 at 3:01 pm

Posted in Technology

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] you might have guessed after my rant about iOS slowness and my rant about iTunes bugginess, I have decided to ditch my iPhone and go with Android.  I just […]


Leave a Reply

