Technology, Philosophy, & Sometimes Both

Thoughts on the World by Jack Umano

“The Kings Speech” Reminds to Release Fear

leave a comment »

SPOILER ALERT: Plot of this movie is discussed.

I recently enjoyed the movie, “The Kings Speech” about a stammering prince who is about to become king. The prince’s stammering is worst when faced with his longtime fears of not being accpeted/admired by his father and brother.  In a turning point scene, with his father and brother now out of the picture, the prince realizes that he no longer needs to worry about their acceptance.  He is ready to become King.

The lesson I take away from this movie is a reminder that fear and worry choke you.  In fact, the word “worry” comes from an old German word “wurgen” which means “strangle.”  The prince worries about impressing his father.  These worries thwart his ability to impress.

So, I wonder: How do my fears hinder my ability to conquer those fears?

Someone once asked me what I am afraid of.  Surprisingly, for me the answer came quickly and easily: missed opportunities.  I don’t want to miss an opportunity to do something great.  Or, to experience life to the fullest. Do I metaphorically “stammer” and hesitate when life’s biggest opportunities arise?

When I worry about being a good enough father, maybe I waste time reading books about parenting when I should be spending time playing with my kids.  Analysis paralysis?

What are you afraid of? Does that fear affect you in unusual ways to stop you from succeeding?  Robert Hastings said, “It isn’t the burdens of today that drive men mad.  It is the regrets of yesterday and the fear of tomorrow.  Regret and fear are twin thieves that rob us of today.”

Written by Jack Umano

April 27, 2011 at 2:36 pm

Posted in Philosophy

Leave a Reply

