Technology, Philosophy, & Sometimes Both

Thoughts on the World by Jack Umano

A Proud Geek Moment

leave a comment »

I recently went on vacation with family and friends and we pooled our money to rent a nice place to stay.  The rental company company was unreachable and no one could connect to the wi-fi.  So, we were all left with useless iPads, slow phone data connections, and a playstation in the room that connected to nothing.

Here was my chance to put all my geek knowledge to use to save the day. I sprang into action!

I used my phone’s signal strength indicator and studied the useless wi-fi signal that was being broadcast.  Everyone in the house was looking for the router but, I with my bloodhound of a phone, tracked it down.

With my vast experience (of setting up my router at home), I knew that these things occasionally need to be restarted.  And I knew just how to do it.  Heroically, I unplugged the router and plugged it back in.  E voilà!  We were all up and running again.  The others looked at me sideways as I threw up my arms in triumph and called out, “Yeeeeahhh!”

Since they weren’t suitably impressed, I decided to really wow them. I bragged, “I could play our custom radio stations over the TV, you know?” I don’t have a PlayStation but there’s nothing I can’t figure out. I fired it up and found that it wasn’t connected to the internet. Checking the back of the system, I found an Ethernet port. At that moment, I knew I could rescue us all from unconnected oblivion.

Hmm. If only I had an Ethernet cable… Thinking quickly, I guessed that there might be a spare one in the box that the router came in (which someone had found when searching for the router). Sure enough, a spare Ethernet cable was there just waiting to use.

I connected the wiring and started up the PS3 again. I was ready to celebrate but, no! It still didn’t work. With some more digging, I found that it had the wrong SSID. I found settings to restart the internet connection with autodetect. Aaaand, bam! The Playstation was connected to the world. Wooooo!

All that was needed now was to get a web browser going, sign up for services using few bogus anonymous account names and we were grooving the Pandora tunes in no time.

The others were all unpacked and ready to hit the beach. I let them listen to my rockin stations while I caught up. I’m sure they loved it. Even if they looked annoyed at me not being ready to go.

Written by Jack Umano

May 16, 2011 at 5:59 pm

Posted in Technology

Leave a Reply

